Latest News
About Shapar & High Schoo l
  Shree Pragna Upkram Sutra

This the third and very important sutra in the whole 32 agams. This sutra has been composed by Shri Shyamacharya who also known with the nickname of Kalkacharya. This sutra is also called the philosophical concise encyclopedia of the worldly substance the healthy and concise.

Here the ward “Pragnapna” is meant with the combination of two different part that is ‘pra’ + ‘gnapna’ = “Prakarshrupe” To know either way by inner and outer is the pragnapna. Worldly substance contains to differences that is ‘Jivpragnapna’ and ‘Ajivpragnapna’. The partition of worldly beings according to their differences, their minimum and maximum position in each situation parts and particles of Karma, places of Origin of beings, different bodies attained by them and their results, kashay, Indriya, Leshya, Samudhghat, etc. are described here.

Every doctrine and principle of Jain Darshan is described here. This sutra covers the following points in detail and depth.

1. Pragnapna

2. Sthana
Here the origin, place and residence for each and every lively creatures are described.

3. Bahuvyaktata-Aalpbahutva
Here all the lively creatures are analyzed in detailed with its different types.

4. Shtiti (Position)
In this part the time limit to live for all of the lively creatures’ are explained. The life is continuous; but the lively creature as per its time limit lives in sone certain body and when time limit over it changes the body or the place and moves to another. This procedure is explained in detailed in this chapter.

5. Visheshpad - Paryay : Synonyms
This portion enlights about the special types of the lively creatures. It says that though all the substances are continuous even then they possess the changing condition. different conditions are the synonymies of the substances.

6. Vyutkranti
This part discusses about the different ways process relating to born and to change body from as person man/woman. It says about the media of eight gate for this procedure.

7. Breathing
This relates the breathing with life time limit and reacts as the mental and physical status of mankind. In anger position, in unhappiness the breathing works faster while it stays regular in the fresh and normal condition of the person.

8. Sign
The sign “Sangna” is the terminology of jain literature. The mentality of all the mankind is based of the signs “Sangnas”. In jain terminology there are mainly ten signs “Sangna”. All the people surely contains little or more this signs.

9. Yoni
Here the types of lives are explained. Once lively creature leaves the body it gets the another; this another types are called the Yonies. In jainism total 84 lacs yonies are believed.

10. Charam : Extremity (Endpoint)
The extreme part or time of a lively creature or a thing and the middle part of the lively creature or a things. These both the word are subjective to each other.

11. Language
The media to explain the thoughts is the language. The reason after the language is the eagerness of expiation of the lively creature. Only lively creatures can explain through language, lifeless substance can not explain the language.

12. Body
is the place to live for the soul. It is of five types and seven dhatus. It differs according to its work.

13. Result
Here the word ‘result’ ‘parinam’ is meant with two meaning. First, changing of substance from one condition to other without disturbing the origin. Second, the pradurbhav; the manifestation of invisible paryay.

14. Kashay : Anger

15. Organs : Sense (Indriya)

16. Prayog

17. Leshya

18. Kay-sthiti
Continuous stay of the “Jiva” lively creatures in normal or special ‘paryay’ is called ‘Kay-sthiti’.

19. Samyakatva
Real faith upon the philosophy praised by the lord Jineshwar is the ‘Samyaktva’

20. Antahkriya

21. Avgahna Sansthan
Here it is explained that the body of lively creature contains ‘avgahna’ and ‘sansthan’ It is believed that the lively creature creates their body according to their ‘karmas’ and also gets ‘avgahna’ and ‘sanathan’ accordingly.

22. Kriya (The activity)
In jainism in this pranpna sutra it is explained that due to anger and eventual situation what people acts are called ‘kriya’ or the Activity.

23. Karma-Prakruti
Here the composer has described the differences, types and the position of the lively creature due to the different ‘karmabandhana’.

24. Aahar (Alimony)
The lively creature accepts the alimony according to the need. These alimony are of five different types.

25. Upyog (The use)
Application of the divine power of soul is called ‘upyog’ or ‘ Use. The fire can be located or known by the smoke likewise by the use soul can be known.

26. Pashyata
Knowledge of special types or the vision of past, present and future called pashyata.

27. Sangni

28. Sanyat

29. Avadh i

30. Paricharna
Fulfillment of the physical or lustrous need, here how God Dev-Devi fulfills their luster with the non-worldly higher level. The ‘lok’ where there are the Devis; the Dev fulfills their luster and where not they call devi from other ‘lok’ and the Dev fulfills their luster.

31. Vedana : Pain, Grievance
The experience or the feeling of happiness and unhappiness called Vedana.

32. Samudghat
This is the word of jain terminology. The process of killing the karmas with full intensity. The word “Samudghat” is construct of three part i.e ‘sam’ means collectively, ‘ud’ means with full intensity and ‘ghat’

Thus the Pragnapana Sutra is the healthy sutra for understanding the depth of the partition of the worldly beings according to their difference and minimum and maximum position.

Latest Photography
Shapar-High School Photo
Shapar High School Video Clip